Meet our team

Our website has moved to a new home! Please visit us at and update your bookmark!

Director: April N Abbott, PhD

April Abbott is a lecturer in the Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences at Macquarie University. Dr. Abbott is a sedimentary geochemist with seagoing experience on multiple research vessels including the R/V Investigator.  Her PhD is in Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Science with an accompanying certificate in College & University Teaching.


Secretariat: Moon Rea

Moon has joined April at Macquarie University as part of the CAPSTAN team.  She will be assisting with all the administration of the pilot program and can be contacted via,, or directly via




Current CAPSTAN Members

Reference Group

Chair: TBD Industry/Government Independent Chair, external stakeholder.
Mr Ben Rae Acting Director Marine National Facility MNF liaison, scheduling, logistic support, web and publicity support. Advice on Stakeholder needs.
A/Prof.  Leanne Armand Macquarie University Director, liaison between all groups.
Prof. Peter Steinberg Director Sydney Institute of Marine Science

Champion for SIMS, national Masters hosting programme support,

web and publicity support.

Prof. Susan Jones University of Tasmania LTAS SCIENCE author, expert in curriculum design.
Dr Pauhla McGrane Galway-Mayo Institute of Technology

Director of Irish SMART programme. International sea training

curriculum and logistical expert.

Mr Tim Moltmann Director Integrated Marine Obs. System

Champion for IMOS integration, educational product development

and educational tool workshops.

Dr Adam Lewis Geoscience Australia Advice on Stakeholder needs.
Mr Phillip Boxall Aust. Antarctic Division Advice on Stakeholder needs.

Academic and Institutional Representatives from subscribed CAPSTAN members

  • Subscriptions in process
April Abbott/Martin Ostrowski  Macquarie University l
Phil Boxall  Australian Antarctic Division
Leah Moore  University of Canberra
Jenny Davis/Penny Wurm/Karen Gibb  Charles Darwin  University
Laura Harman  Deakin University
Zanna Chase  University of Tasmania
Tom Hubble/Eleanor Bruce  University of Sydney
Sophie Leterme  Flinders University
Pascale Quester  Adelaide University
Katerina Petrou/ Martina Doblin  Uni. of Tech., Sydney
Michael Ellwood  Aust. Nat. University
Lynnath Beckley*  Murdoch University

CAPSTAN Sponsors of Student Mobility (2017-2019)

NSW Office of Environment and Heritage


CAPSTAN Foundational Alliance members (2015-2016)

Academic Advisory & Implementation Group

Dr L. Armand Now at ANU Project leader & group liaison, web content, phytoplankton.
Dr M. Ostrowski Macquarie University molecular community liaison.
Prof. I Suthers UNSW, Australia zooplankton ecologist, state government dept. liaison.
A/P. M Roughan UNSW, Australia physical oceanographer.
Dr K. Petrou * Uni. of Tech., Sydney curriculum development.
Dr S. Holmes Uni. Western Sydney benthic ecologist
Dr E. Bruce University of Sydney coastal/marine geomorphologist.
Prof. R. Coleman University of Tasmania Govt contacts, physical oceanographer, quantitative skills.
Prof. Ranmuthugala Aust. Maritime College Extensive educational training at sea, engineer.
A/P. M. Ellwood Aust. Nat. University marine chemist.
Dr J. Bourget* Uni. Western Australia marine geologist, international program experience.
Dr Chris Cvitanovic* MNF Policy Officer MNF liaison & web assistance, marine policy.
Dr Ana Lara-Lopez* IMOS Officer IMOS liaison & web assistance, Government contacts.
Postgraduate Program SIMS SIMS liaison and web assistance.

Dr Leah Moore             Uni. Canberra               Volcanology, hydrogeological Landscape (HGL), science education


CAPSTAN Partners

Pilot Programme Institutional Partners ( * finalising subscription)

Macquarie University – Adelaide University, Australian National University*, University of Canberra – Charles Darwin University – Deakin University – Flinders University – Murdoch University* – University of Tasmania – University of Technology, Sydney – The University of Sydney  – University of Western Australia* – Australian Government Department of the Environment (Australian Antarctic Division).

Pilot Programme Sponsors of Student Mobility

MARGO, NSW Office of Environment and Heritage.


Pilot Programme Supporters

Marine National Facility (MNF)-CSIRO, Integrated Marine Observing System (IMOS)


Original CAPSTAN Foundational Alliance

Macquarie University – Marine National Facility (MNF) – Australian Government Geoscience Australia – Australian Government Department of the Environment (Australian Antarctic Division) – Integrated Marine Observing System (IMOS) – University of New South Wales – Australian National University – The University of Western Australia – Western Sydney University – The University of Sydney – The University of Tasmania – Australian Maritime College – University of Technology Sydney – University of Canberra – Flinders University – Sydney Institute of Marine Science – The Strategic Marine Alliance for Research and Training


Back to homepage